Swan Song

You Don’t Have to Go Home

As the Spring 2013 semester draws to a close, I struggle to find phrases without cliches, so I will attempt to bypass the usual nonsense including lines from Semisonic’s one hit, “Closing Time,” or Green Day’s “Time of Your Life.”

Throughout this semester, I have blogged, micro-blogged (Tweeted), and logged in to enough internet services to make your head spin (Diigo, Google Drive, Scribd, Ning, WordPress [obviously], and Weebly, just to name a few. The important thing to focus on here is the learning that took place amid the chaos of having a dozen different accounts and passwords to keep track of. What did I learn about blogging and micro-blogging? Simply put, I learned that these tools are more than just an outlet for teenage angst and purposeless quoting of brilliant lines from the latest hit by the Zac Brown Band. Professionals use sites like WordPress and Twitter to share information and stay up-to-date on the latest information in their fields. With constant troubleshooting from peers around the globe, it is no surprise that professionals flock to these hubs of information. It makes their lives so much easier!

ComputerHug460x276

The Blog of My Life

My time on WordPress has mainly been dominated by requirements for a college class, so the professional aspect of my personality had to stay awake for at least an hour a week. It has been a challenge that I cannot honestly say that I excelled at. Where I struggled most was to keep my words alive. That is to say that I did not want a blog that read like 1,000 pages of legal documentation, and at the same time, I needed to provide some perspective on the various pieces of research that I needed to complete. Even now, I am wishing there were more conversational ways to go about telling you about my experiences without stepping too far from the pedestal of professionalism. Perhaps video-blogging is next…?

Immature-Businessman

It’s the End of the Blog As We Know It (and I Feel Fine)

With that all said, this is the end of the line for my blogging, at least for the time being. Being a student, the nature of my career is transient, at best. So, although our time here is at an end, do me once last favor, readers: never stop learning through technology and each other.

calvin-hobbes-new-year-resolution1

Leave a Reply

